Urea and Engine Fault Lights On - Citroen DS4 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 5th September 2020, 16:31 Thread Starter

Angry Urea and Engine Fault Lights On

Hi everyone,

Hoping someone can help me out here. I'm a relatively new driver (got my license a year ago) and my first/current car is a DS4 Crossback (65 registration, 45k miles on the clock). I don't know much about cars/dealing with garages etc., so hoping someone might have some advice for me here....

A couple of months after buying the car (which I bought last October) an engine fault light came on and it transpired that it was a faulty urea/adBlue tank. This was replaced for free by Citroen, due to a recall issue, and the car was given a full service in January of this year. There have been no further issues until last night. The engine fault light came on and said that there was a risk of the particle filter clogging, so I consulted the handbook/online and took it for a fast drive on the motorway to clear it. That warning no longer comes up. However, I took it back on the motorway this morning and on my way home the engine fault light came back on, this time saying emissions control error and something about adBlue....(!) So, I now have an engine fault light, a UREA fault light and a service light all lit up on the dash. I consulted the handbook and it says 'this warning will disappear when emissions normalise', and gives no further advice/clue. This is all made worse by the fact that my car's MOT expires in two weeks.