Citroen DS4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

Literally bought my DS4 last night and very happy so far, have to say it's my first time with an electronic handbrake and finding it hard to get used. After driving round some quiet hills for a bit, i've notice when i've wanted to come to a fullstop on a hill and apply the hand brake, i will get a message and some beeping saying handbrake failure.

I wil be taking it back to the garage to get it looked at, but just wondering if there's any do's or don't abiout using the handbrake on hills or in general and when to use it.

I'm aware of the hillstart function, which is awesome to be fair, but just worried incase i need to use it in the future and need to use the handbrake and it fails.

Can i apply the handbrake, with my foot on the brake? or do i have to apply it as im about to stop?

These seem silly writing them down but it's the best i can do to explain, im convinced it's me pressing to early or pushing the brake at the same time, so wouldnt be suprised to hear it come back :)

ANy help though guys would be much appreciated!

·
Registered
544 Posts
You can apply the handbrake at any time, I think above a certain speed it needs to be a prolonged pull (which must be longer than the amount of time I pulled it on the motorway a few months ago thinking I'd got the central armrest lid!), I've certainly applied ours whilst it's rolling on a slight incline.

I can't think of a situation where I've had an error message applying the handbrake but it has a hissy fit if you try to release it manually without your foot on the brake; releasing automatically it's fine of course.

Does that help?

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Frank, it does help mate!