DS4OwnersClub.co.uk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

I'm just trying to find out if I can fit winter tyres size 225/55/R18 to my ds4 I have 225/45/R18 summer tyres fitted at the moment. I don't know if the tyre would be to big.

Cheers

·
Registered
267 Posts
I think it would be too big. It would affect the speedometer readings. To reduce the affect, try 205 instead of 225

·
Registered
312 Posts
I agree with ajdar they are too big,I think you need to reduce the height back to 45 Im not sure if reducing the width will reduce it but I'm not a expert so I may be wrong.It willraise the gearing so the speedo will read low.It could effect your insurance if you have a accident.I would'nt bother with winter tyres on a front wheel drive anyway I have'nt got stuck for years and the authorities in this country are not famous for keeping roads,airports or railways moving withany bad weather!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Unfortunately winter tyres have to be fitted by law here in Germany during the winter. And the difference they make are unbelievable. And your insurance will be invalid if you have a smash in the winter without them. They do fit....but only just!!!!!

·
Registered
117 Posts
gnftrs said:
Unfortunately winter tyres have to be fitted by law here in Germany during the winter. And the difference they make are unbelievable. And your insurance will be invalid if you have a smash in the winter without them. They do fit....but only just!!!!!

I personally think they should be made law everywhere; like you said the difference is unbelievable! Here in the Netherland's winter tyres are very popular, although not mandatory as far as I know.

·
Registered
312 Posts